EAL/English
Teen Library AdvisorsBook Week
This is the "About DHS LRC (Library)" page of the "Library Homepage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Homepage  

This is the official website for the Learning Resource Centre at Dandenong High School.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.dandenong-hs.vic.edu.au/homepage Print Guide RSS Updates

About DHS LRC (Library) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LRC (Library) Vision

  • The LRC is a vibrant, innovative learning centre and, as the hub and symbolic heart of our school, plays an active role in unifying our community in its goal to create an outstanding educational setting.  
  • The LRC proactively initiates and develops programs which support our community to be information literate.
  • The LRC collaborates with teaching teams across the Houses to assist in the development and implementation of dynamic teaching and learning strategies and programs which incorporate the school’s vision, values and principles, ensuring that the needs, achievements, and strengths of every individual are nurtured and developed.
  • The LRC offers a welcoming and supportive physical environment with a variety of comfortable spaces which genuinely enable learners to pursue their learning and inquiry as individuals, in small groups and in larger teams. 
  • The LRC confidently manages a 24/7 virtual library which offers our community access to relevant resources and learning opportunities in the Houses or at home, on demand, anywhere and whenever individuals need the support.
  • The LRC promotes and celebrates a reading culture; global and digital citizenship.
  • The LRC offers a technologically rich environment and provides access to a wide range of resources in multiple formats that meet the teaching and learning needs of our school, satisfies and reflects the diverse interests and backgrounds of students and proactively addresses issues of equity. 

 

Reminders

Student Borrowing Students may borrow up to 6 Fiction Books and 6 Non Fiction Books (12 books in total) for 2 weeks. 

Staff Borrowing Staff may borrow resources marked as Teacher Reference for the length of the school year. Customarily items are due towards the end of November whenever they are borrowed. It is expected that staff will return these items at the end of the year even if they wish to have them reissued immediately. DVDs, magazines and recreational materials have more limited borrowing periods. Short term contract staff must return all resources before leaving the school.

Library Passes Teachers may permit up to 3 students to visit the LRC (library) during class time. Students will not be admitted without a signed diary library pass stating the purpose and duration of their visit.  Students may be returned if the Learning Resource Centre is crowded.

Learning Spaces Teachers must accompany their class to learning spaces in the LRC (library). Spaces must be booked using Bookit, an online booking service. Students are expected to line up and wait quietly outside the LRC for the arrival of their teacher(s) who will be responsible for them during the period.

Staff Book Swap Program A book swap program for staff has been set up in the Galleria space or what used to be the old foyer.  We would love to see as many staff participating.   Staff can take any book but need to donate a book to take its place.  Staff do not need to borrow at the desk as this program runs independently to our borrowing system.


Databases

ClickView
ClickView Online is a digitised video library available across the School Network and from home. It provides access to over 10,000 titles which can be searched by category or keyword. ClickView also enables a movie clip to be exported in a format that can be inserted easily into Powerpoint or Word.
 
Echo
The newspaper index Echo is available on-line via this link and from the LRC's school Intranet page where staff and students can access login details. The Issue Outlines compiled by Echo are also a very useful resource. 
 

Newsbank gives access to the full-text content of Australia's newspapers dating back to 1999.

Staff and students can access login details on the LRC's school Intranet page.

SLASA Online Referencing Generator
SLASA Online Reference Generator takes the stress out of referencing and is suitable for students of all levels.

Staff and students can access login details on the LRC's school Intranet page.

 
World Book Web Logo
WorldBook Online offers online encyclopaedia resources which are suitable for students and their families.

Staff and students can access login details on the LRC's school Intranet page.

original ziptales site

Ziptales Online features a library of high interest stories and other learning resources which are suitable for students of all ages and their families. Staff and students can access login details on the LRC's school Intranet page.

 
      
     

    Welcome to Dandenong High School LRC (Library)

    What can the LRC (Library) do for you?

    • Provide great company and space to learn, share or read with friends
    • Fun activities such as lunchtime concerts, fun competitions and other exciting events
    • Hours - 8.00 am - 3.30 pm
    • We are open Before School, at Recess and Lunchtime!

    Teacher-librarians are available to advise on researching, information skills and help you with study guides and texts.

    Ask about:

    • Information needs 
    • Finding great books to read
    • Search tips and tricks
    • Database searching
    • Referencing and bibliographic tools
    • Document layout and publishing
    • Recommended readings
    • Printing and Photocopying
    • Volunteering as a Teen Library Advisor
    • Involvement in Readers' Cup, NanoWrimo and other fantastic competitions
    • Web tools

    Make the best use of our services by asking for help.

     

    What can a teacher librarian do for you?

    Poster created by Joyce Valenza. See it in her Flickr photostream here.

     

    Other Services

    Ordering resources - All curriculum resources both print and non-print are ordered through the LRC (library). Teachers should check with Subject Co-ordinators before requesting any items as items will be charged to the accounts from each subject. Please organise a signed requisition by your Domain/Subject Leader with items clearly listed. Magazine subscriptions should also be referred to Maria Papazoglou. If material is required urgently for some specific purpose, such as Class Sets or Teacher Reference, it is helpful to let the library staff know this at the time of ordering.  Teachers need to organise their own newspaper subscriptions and sort out any problems with the relevant newspaper company.  For the convenience of staff who have organised subscriptions, newspapers are delivered to the LRC each day but staff need to tick off names from the list at the desk before taking a paper.

    ClickView - The library has facilities to enable television programs to be recorded off-air. Juan Sanchez or Jane Sutton should be approached for this service. It is necessary to give 24 hours notice. In order to comply with copyright regulations, we cannot copy commercial dvds into ClickView. Programs can also be sourced from the ClickView Exchange and added to the ClickView Library.

    Data Projectors - Data projectors are available for borrowing for presentations by staff and students in areas which do not have smartboards installed.

    Staff and Student Photocopying & ID Cards - Students need to use their ID card for photocopying.  Credit into accounts can be deposited via the special coin machine in the LRC.  Credit is also used for printing from computers.  If cards are lost, please inform staff at the Information Desk and make arrangements for a replacement.  Staff photocopying can be referred to Juan Sanchez who is the Print Manager but please give ample notice.  Please note other LRC staff do not have access to teachers' private PIN numbers.

     

    Book a Teacher Librarian for your class

    Dandenong High School Library Catalogue

    Click here to search the Dandenong High School Library Catalogue

     

    LRC (Library) Staff

    • Manager, Learning Resource Centre (Library): Maria Papazoglou
      • Teacher-librarians: Jane Sutton and Karen Sellenger

      • Library Assistants & Technicians: Caroline Cox, Cheryl Fox, Stephane Prince, Juan Sanchez & Di Wheeler
       

      Information Literacy, Print & Digital Literacy Services

      Inquiry Learning - Teacher-librarians are available to discuss and assist in planning resource based units of work. Our particular focus is in collaborating to integrate the skills of information and digital literacy into these units as well as ensuring appropriate materials in a range of formats are available. Teacher-librarians are also available to teach these skills with you, if required. Reasonable notice is required and the more the teacher-librarian is part of the planning process the better we can assist.

      Book Tubs - Staff in the LRC can prepare tubs of books on subjects you specify.  Please let us know how long you will require the resources to stay in a tub and send students to collect the tubs at the beginning of each lesson.  Tubs should be returned at the end of each lesson to ensure resources are shared across the Houses.  Tubs must be pre-booked through the manual folder at the desk but please note that items in the tub will also be booked electronically to staff at the time of collection.  Please count items carefully before asking students to return tubs to the LRC at the end of your lesson.  Staff will be responsible for the return of all items.

      Bibliographies - The teacher-librarians can prepare bibliographies or web pages highlighting materials in the collection, useful Internet sites and web resources on subjects you specify. Please give reasonable notice.

      Learning Spaces - Spaces in the LRC can be booked via the school's electronic booking system, Compass. The Study Area has 12 computers and the Research Area has about 20 computers. The Fiction Room and Literature Circles Area do not have access to computers. Click here to visit the Links Page on the school's intranet portal. Please note this link will only work at school.

      Wider Reading - This is usually related to English classes but can be useful in other subjects such as History. Have you considered booking a Teacher Librarian to  introduce relevant fiction and non-fiction to your students or to assist with Literature Circles? Please contact us if you are interested.

       

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip